Apple, Blackberry & Almond Cake

7 Sep

A few days ago my boyfriend and I had another set of friends over to the apartment for dinner. This recent spate of hospitality stems from a combination of the novelty of cohabitation, getting back into town after a summer away, and having great friends who are willing to do things like watch my ridiculous cat for two months while I was away.

a slice

Given my current obsession with (read: addiction to) caramel, I had salted caramel ice cream and some dark salted caramel sauce on hand. Frankly, I was hoping to be rid of both of them given that my obsession with salted caramel is paired with an equally enormous lack of willpower around what I am beginning to believe should be a controlled substance….

Accordingly, I wanted to use up the ice cream and sauce without creating a dessert so overwhelmingly saccharine that we all developed an aversion to sugar, so I looked over some of my more trustworthy websites and found this apple blackberry cake recipe on Lottie & Doof. He had adapted it from a Martha Stewart recipe (also a trusted source). The idea of a “lighter” fruit desert appealed to me given the decadent nature of its proposed toppings. I had some blackberries on hand in the freezer, and we’re just coming into peak apple season here in Michigan, so it seemed as if the stars had aligned.

healthy. full of fiber and vitamins. unlikely virtuous enough to make up for the caramel, though.

I couldn’t resist tweaking it a bit, however. Memories of the orange cornmeal cake were still fresh in my mind, so I added some almond extract and orange zest to the batter and topped the whole concoction with toasted almond slivers. I can’t say I regret any of the decisions I’ve made – aside from the one to eat three pieces in one sitting. With the ice cream. And the salted caramel sauce. And several vats of beer. And the dinner itself, which we will discuss another time. I DIGRESS.

Ingredients

For Cake 

  • 2 large gala apples, peeled and chopped into chunks
  • 1 cup blackberries, fresh or frozen
  • 1 & 1/2 cups AP Flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Zest from 1/2 large orange
  • 6 tbsp melted butter
  • 3/4 cup  packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp pure almond extract
For Topping
  • 1/4 cup toasted almond slivers
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Two tbsp butter, cut into small pieces
Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 375F and spray a 9″ springform with non-stick baking spray.
2. Whisk together dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt + orange zest) in a small bowl.
3. Whisk together wet ingredients (melted butter, sugar, almond extract, milk and eggs) in a medium-large bowl.
4. Whisk flour mixture into wet ingredients, and spread batter evenly in prepared springform pan.
5. Arrange apple chunks and blackberries atop batter, pressing them gently into the mixture when necessary.
6. Top with toasted almond slivers, and press these gently into the batter as well when possible. Mix the 2 tbsp brown sugar and cinnamon together, and sprinkle over the top of the batter before dotting the entire ensemble with the remaining 2 tbsps butter.
7. Bake for about 55 minutes, until the top of the cake is golden, the apples are tender, and a toothpick inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.

Mmmm....

8. Drizzle with this:

dark salted caramel sauce

One Response to “Apple, Blackberry & Almond Cake”

  1. Becca September 7, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    Jess, this looks deadly.
    I will likely make one tomorrow, as it’s apple season here too, and though I’ve no blackberries, I have some red currants in the fridge that have stumped me as they’re far too tart to eat alone. Jesspants to the rescue!
    It will also be a good test of what seems to be a hopelessly slow oven in the new flat here. I suspect Candice (flatmate) and I will eat the whole thing in one go. By which I mean I will likely eat most of it, because I too lack the self-restraint that others seem to exhibit.
    Hugs and love to you!!!!

Leave a Reply

