Chipotle Cannellini Dip

1 Sep

A few nights ago my boyfriend and I invited two of our close friends to our apartment for dinner. It was our first time ‘officially’ having people over to our new place, and I decided that I wanted to go all out: appetizers, main course AND dessert. I knew immediately what I wanted to make for the latter two categories (pizza + cornmeal cake with cinnamon ice cream), but I rarely make appetizers. Like a somewhat unambitious and lethargic superhero, I flew to my cookbooks and began to pore over them furiously. I wanted something that could be made in advance, paired well with a number of vegetables and breads, and looked easy enough that I couldn’t screw it up.

Unsurprisingly, I found it in Fresh Flavor Fast, the sequel to my favourite ‘magic cookbook’. Martha Stewart and Co. dubbed the dip “a favorite” among the editors, and so I was initially sold. While the recipe called for a food processor (which, sadly, I lack), it seemed like the sort of thing that could just as easily be made in a blender. Sold again. Finally, the only ingredient I didn’t have on hand was the cannellini beans, which I (rightly) figured would be easy enough to obtain. Triple sold.

Slightly tweaked, all you need is:

  • Two 15-oz cans of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2-3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice (fresh if you’ve got it, but bottled worked well for me)
  • Coarse sea salt, to taste
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • About 1/2 tsp of chipotle

Instructions

1. Pulse all ingredients except the chipotle in blender until smooth;

2. Place the pureed bean dip into whatever serving bowl you’re planning on using (or a storage container, if you’re just making it for yourself) and sprinkle with about 1/4 tsp of the chipotle. Add the other 1/4 tsp, and additional chipotle f you’re a brave soul who likes your food piquant.

I served this with pita chips, slivers of toasted homemade whole wheat bread drizzled in olive oil, and carrot sticks. It paired well with all of these accompaniments, but I also  think it would also be a great addition to sandwiches and wraps, or pretty much anywhere you use hummus. I hope that you like it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

