Berry Syrup

17 Aug

I know, I know. I’m a little bit berry obsessed right now. I had a pot luck to attend a few days ago, and I wanted to bring a topping for the pound cake that I was making. I had a 1/2 cup of crushed blueberries left over from making jam the day before, and I bought some strawberries and raspberries to round out the sauce I planned to make.

It’s actually a really good thing that I made it, because the poundcake turned out to be quite dry, and was far less than the sum of its parts when it came to ingredients (I added both lemon zest and vanilla extract, and got a dull-tasting, dry cake). However, the syrup is delightful, and I plan on adding it to vanilla ice cream at the slightest provocation in the next few days.

The ingredients are as follows:
•    2 c. Strawberries (whole)
•    1 ½  c. Rasberries (whole)
•    1 c. Blueberries
•    Juice from one lemon, seeds removed
•    ¾ cup white sugar
•    1 tbsp + 1 tsp cornstarch
•    1 tbsp maple syrup
•    1 tbsp vanilla extract
Delicious, right? I read a number of syrup recipes before concocting this, and the vanilla combined with the maple adds just the right touch of sweetness. The ingredients even look amazing:

(1) Crush all of the fruit, either by hand or with a mixer.

(2) Heat the mixture in a large saucepan over medium to high heat, stirring constantly.

(3) Stir in sugar, lemon juice, maple syrup & vanilla extract.
(4) As syrup begins to bubble, add cornstarch. Stir mixture fairly regularly to prevent syrup from adhering to sides of pan.
Once the syrup begins to thicken, it’s done! In my case this took about 10-15 minutes. Pour into a sterilized mason jar, and serve warm over ice cream or use it to imbue a particularly uninspiring dessert with flavor.

The former is of course always my preference.

Leave a Reply

